Mexican Street Corn Soup

Standard

I’m back! Having a kid = no time to cook, let alone time to blog if I happen to actually cook something. For you ladies who somehow make the whole full-time job, blog, kid or even MULTIPLE kid thing happen successfully – hats off to you. Cocktails on me. If you follow me or know me, I have not been focused on the blog for a while but going to try to get back into it in 2017.

I feel so much better when I cook for either myself, my family or my friends. I like to turn on the tunes, grab a glass of wine and just chop and simmer. Breathe and chill. My hope for 2017 is to do Sunday meal prepping so I’m cooking and then I’ll also have quicker ‘heat up’ meals since we try to be around the dinner table at 5:30 or so. Wish me luck.

Without further adieu – here is the recipe for Mexican Street Corn Soup – a few variations included. Apologies here for limited pictures. Not fully back on my blog/capture images game. Get more wine and use your imagination – or message me. 🙂

img_3239

Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp olive oiil
  • 6 ears of corn – with the corn cut off the cob
    • I couldn’t find much fresh corn in the winter so I did 3 cobs and 2 cans of corn OR you could do 4 entire cans of corn if you can’t find fresh corn
    • If you use canned corn, drain WELL and pat dry with paper towel. Or you can do this earlier in the day and leave the corn out on paper towels for a couple of hours to dry out a bit.
  • 1 medium carrot peeled and chopped
  • 1 celery rib peeled and chopped
  • 1/2 chopped yellow or white onion chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic minced
  • 1 tbsp chili powder + 1 tsp for garnish (can add more as you wish)
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 4 cups chicken broth
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 1 cup crumbled queso fresco
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lime juice
  • 1 teaspoon grated lime zest
  • 2 tablespoons freshly chopped cilantro – divided
  • 1 avocado chopped (optional)
  • 1 immersion blender or food processor
  • 1 fine mesh sieve or strainer

Directions:

  1. Heat oil in non-stick stock pot over medium to medium-high heat
  2. Add in onion, celery, carrot and corn kernels (cut from cob or from can), chili powder, cumin, salt & pepper (I did about 3 pinches of salt and 1 pinch of black pepper)
  3. Saute until onions begin to look translucent and the corn begins to stick to the pan and get brown in spots. Took me about 10-13 or so minutes
  4. Add garlic and cook about 2 more minutes
  5. Remove 1 cup of corn mixture and set aside
  6. Add chicken broth and corn cobs (no more than 6 cobs) to the pot.
  7. Simmer 30 minutes on low
  8. With tongs remove the corn cobs and throw away
  9. Add in cup of sour cream and 3/4 cup of queso fresco. Stir well to combine.
  10. In batches (I had to do 2 batches), blend the soup with your food processor or blender.
    • After processing, I ran/pushed half of the blended soup through a sieve. I don’t like super thick soups and the corn kernel skins were getting stuck in my teeth when I tasted so I strained it to ensure it wasn’t too gunky.
  11. Put all soup back into the pot and heat to medium
  12. Add corn mixture from earlier when you removed it prior to adding chicken broth (step 5)
  13. Add in 1 tbsp (half) of the cilantro and lime juice – stir well
  14. Pour soup into bowls
  15. Garnish with lime zest, cilantro, queso fresco, chili powder.
  16. Add avocado if you wish.
  17. ENJOY!
img_3236

Step 6 – adding broth & cobs to then simmer

img_3237

Queso fresco, chopped cilantro & lime

img_3238

Finished soup bowls – ready for my belly!

Leave a Reply

