Honey Sesame Chicken

Standard

DSC_0026

I saw a recipe on Pinterest long ago, and didn’t pin it – but it looked awesome. I recently had sesame chicken at a local Chinese joint and was thinking ‘damn, this is good – I need to find that pin so I can make this at home.’. I went on the hunt through my food boards, and couldn’t find it. BUT, I did find a honey sesame chicken recipe and tweaked it to make it my own. Note to self: always pin the recipe.

So, the original form of this recipe called for sugar, wine, and sesame oil in the marinade ingredients list, but I didn’t use any of those. I love Chinese food, but I almost always feel ridiculous amounts of guilt afterwards since there is usually a lot of sugar in the delicious Asian sauces that come from restaurants. Plus, the ingredients for the sauce seemed to have enough sugar so I tried to cut where possible and for this reason created my own marinade. I also added broccoli to this dish as I love broccoli in alIl my Chinese dishes. 

This turned out SO good! Crispy, sweet, a bit tart and very satisfying. Adding the red pepper flakes at the end as a garnish was a good choice. My husband really enjoyed it and he even texted me the next day when eating leftovers and told me this food was better than our regular Chinese restaurant.

Optional do ahead steps: cut & marinate the chicken, cut broccoli florets, mix sauce ingredients.

Ingredients:

    • 2 chicken breast, cubed
    • 1 tbsp soy sauce
    • 1 tsp sriracha sauce
    • 1 tbsp hoisin sauce
    • 3 TB cornstarch
    • 6 TB flour
    • 1 tsp. salt
    • 1/2 tsp. pepper
    • 1/2 – 3/4 cup vegetable oil
    • 2 cups fresh broccoli florets
    • Optional: rice or noodles
Sauce ingredients
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • 2 tbsp oyster sauce
  • 2 tbsp sweet chili sauce
  • 4 tbsp ketchup
  • 4 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1/2 cup water
  • sesame seeds, toasted
DSC_0003

Sauce Ingredients

  1. Cut your chicken breasts into bite size pieces.
  2. Put chicken, soy sauce, sriracha & hoisin sauce in a bag and marinate for 1-2 hours – or you can do this step overnight.
  3. In separate steamer or in double boiler – begin to steam broccoli over medium heat, only steam half way through. This is referred to as ‘par steaming’. Broccoli will cook completely when you finish it later in the sauce.
  4. In a small saute pan, over low heat, toast the sesame seeds for about 5-7 minutes. Do not let burn.
  5. Add vegetable oil to a shallow pan on medium heat.
  6. Mix cornstarch, flour, salt and pepper in a ziploc bag or tupperware dish with tight lid.
  7. In batches (if needed – depends on your size of pan), add chicken to flour mixture, shake gently to coat, and then place chicken in frying pan.
  8. Cook for about 8 minutes until it begins to brown – I like mine more crispy so I did about 10 minutes – just keep an eye on it. Like bacon, once you pull it out it will crisp up a bit more too.
  9. Remove from pan and place on a plate lined with paper towels.
  10. Sauce: Mix honey, oyster sauce, chili sauce, ketchup, soy sauce and water in a small bowl or measuring cup. Pour into medium pan
  11. Bring to a boil then simmer until sauce begins to thicken.
  12. Add chicken and broccoli to frying pan. Stir to coat and saute for a few more minutes.
  13. Serve over rice or noodles as you prefer. (I used brown rice)
  14. Sprinkle with sesame seeds.
DSC_0004

Step 1 & 2: Chicken in marinade

DSC_0002

Step 3: Par-steaming broccoli

DSC_0006

Step 4: Mr. Potts toasting the sesame seeds

DSC_0011

Step 4: Sesame seeds toasting

DSC_0014

Step 6: Battering Chicken

DSC_0013

Step 7: Shaking excess batter off of chicken and place into pan

DSC_0016

Step 7 & 8: Cooking chicken in pan

DSC_0018

Step 9: Placing chicken on paper towels to dry and crisp

DSC_0019

Step 12: Adding broccoli and chicken to thickened sauce

DSC_0026

FIN!!

 

One thought on “Honey Sesame Chicken

Leave a Reply

